Ham and Cheese Scones

Hello?  Anybody there?  Of course you are, look at that delicious pic of a scone I posted, how could you not come running!  Buttery, flaky, drool-inducing scones aside… you guys, I’ve been so terrible!  Look at how long it has been since I have updated this blog!!!  Actually, don’t look, it’s terrible.  I have been thinking about it for a long time but life got super crazy busy!  I’ve gone back to school (hello future Accountant!) and work has been sending me all over the country!  Seriously, 6 provinces in 8 weeks!!!  But as of Sunday I should be home for 2 months so no excuses on the blog front.  Don’t hesitate to hold me to my word!  😉

Now, excuses aside, can we get back to this scone?  This is what my dreams are made of!  I know I’ve said that before but I mean it!  It is ridiculously flaky and cheesy with the buttery interior studded with big jewels of ham.  Excuse me while I wipe all the drool off my keyboard!  It is the perfect scone.  And that’s coming from someone who has trouble making a fluffy scone that doesn’t resemble a hockey puck without the help of Bisquik.  I hope you enjoy these as much as my family and I did!

Ham and Cheese Scones

Recipe from A Beautiful Bite

Serves 6-8

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 8 Tbsp butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup plus 1 Tbsp milk
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  • ½ cup cooked ham
  • ½ large white onion, diced

  1. Preheat oven to 400º.
  2. In a large bowl combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Cut in butter with pastry cutter or a fork.
  3. Add milk and mix until just incorporated. Fold in cheese, ham and onion. Turn dough out onto a floured surface and knead gently for several minutes.
  4. Press dough into a 1½” thick circle and place on a cookie sheet. Bake at 400º for thirty minutes or until golden brown.

If you slice it in half, butter it and pop in a fried egg, you’ll think you’ve died and gone to heaven.

Leave a Reply

