Acorn Squash Tart

Acorn Squash Tart {Apartment 302}

To be honest, I don’t really like cooking for myself.  I like cooking for other people.  That’s part of the reason I don’t get around to posting on my blog nearly as much as I’d like.  That and I just get so busy (bad excuses, I know).  But cooking for myself is sort of a necessity since I live alone and don’t usually have anyone to cook for (plus I can’t exactly afford to have dinner parties every night to feed all my friends).  But occasionally I get tired of the cereal and sandwiches I scarf down during my busy life.  Today I took the time to enjoy my day off and make an actual dinner.  It was super simple and tasty.  And I ate it on the couch watching Netflix.  Indulgence at it’s best!

Squash is a fairly recent discovery in my life.  The first time I cooked one was 3 years ago.  A HUGE Spaghetti Squash.  I was in love with the stringy insides (even though I did overcook them to a mush the first time).  I wondered where Squash had been all my life and why I’d never had this delicious vegetable (or is it a fruit?) before?  A few Spaghetti, Butternut and Acorn Squashes later and they’re pretty much staple in my diet.  This Tart combines buttery Acorn Squash with creamy Ricotta, flaky pastry and zesty, bright lemon.  It’s indulgent, delicious, and best of all, easy to make.

Acorn Squash Tart {Apartment 302}

Acorn Squash Tart

Makes one approx. 6″ tart

  • 1 package puff pastry dough, thawed
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup caramelized onions
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • thinly sliced Acorn Squash (about 1/4″ thick) – I only needed half a medium sized Squash
  • goat cheese
  • pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. On a lightly floured surface, roll out puff pastry dough into a square about 1/4″ thick.  Place dough on a akin sheet or in a tart pan (leave about an 1″ overhang to fold back over the tart).  Prick the pastry with a fork a few times.  Sprinkle on most of the lemon zest.
  3. In a small bowl mix the ricotta, 1 egg, onions and salt.  Spread the ricotta mixture onto the pastry leaving about an inch border around the filling.  Arrange squash slices on top of the ricotta and crumble over some goat cheese.
  4. Fold the edges of the pastry back over the filling to create a crust.  Brush the edges of the pastry with the egg yolk.  Bake for 30-35 minutes until the pastry is golden and the filling has set.
  5. Serve sprinkled with pepper and remaining lemon zest.
Leave a Reply

