Easter Mini Egg Cookies

Easter Mini Egg Cookies {Apartment 302}

Happy Easter, Lovelies!

Just for you, I have another Easter recipe!  It’s my version of a chocolate chip cookie amped up with an Easter spin.  I totally meant to get these posted sooner but life got in the way.  I’ll spare you my work trip excuses if you forgive me for being absent and I promise to try and share more recipes with you!

Easter Mini Egg Cookies {Apartment 302}

Every year I buy copious amount of Mini Eggs.  I justify all of it too- “I love to share!”, “I’m doing a lot of Easter baking!  To share!”  But let’s be honest.  I just can’t stop eating these little colourful eggs.  And “baking” is just an excuse to keep excessive quantities in the house.  So before I devoured all the Mini Eggs straight from the last bag, I figured I should actually bake something with them.  This recipe was the result.  And I can attest that it was a wonderful use of Easter Candy.  I can’t say the same for the white chocolate bunny that never made it into baked goods…

Easter Mini Egg Cookies {Apartment 302}

Easter Mini Egg Cookies

Makes 2 dozen-ish.

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 1+ cups Cadbury Mini Egg Candies

Easter Mini Egg Cookies {Apartment 302}

  1. Whisk together the flour, salt and baking soda in a bowl.  Set aside
  2. In a large bowl, using an electric or stand mixer, beat the butter, sugars, and vanilla at medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Add the egg and mix until just combined.
  3. With the mixer on low, gradually add the flour mixture in several batches and beat until incorporated.  Stir in the Mini Eggs using a large spoon (I didn’t measure, I just stirred them in until I was happy with the amount).  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate the dough for 1 hour (this is not necessary but really helps to blend the flavours).
  4. Preheat the oven to 375°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  5. Drop equal mounds of cookie dough about 1 inch apart.  Bake cookies for 13 to 15 minutes (rotating the cookie sheet halfway through baking) or until the edges are just slightly browned.  Remove the sheet from the oven and let it stand for 5 minutes.  Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

Easter Mini Egg Cookies {Apartment 302}

Leave a Reply

