Carrot and Raisin Cupcakes

Carrot and Raisin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting {Apartment 302}

Happy Easter Everyone!

Have a  wonderful and safe long weekend!

As I child I had a mild obsession with bunnies.  I had to have anything I laid my eyes on that somewhat resembled a rabbit.  My favourite toy was a Bunny that I had to sleep with every night or else a meltdown of epic proportions would ensue.  I’m pretty sure my parents only let this happen once.  They went so far as to buy a “backup” Bunny but that didn’t fool me.  I still have Bunny though he now resides in a drawer rather than my clutched fists as I sleep.  And he is much more ragged- a health hazard my family calls him, worn in with love, I say.  Regardless, I imagine as a kidlet my head exploded with the cuteness overload of the long eared furry bunnies that are plastered everywhere this time of year.  My childhood self could not picture anything in the world more perfect than a rabbit that laid chocolate eggs!  Genius!  I may not devour chocolate eggs by the dozens anymore (with the exception of the occasional regular Mini Egg binge), but I still adore the whole idea.

I dedicate this recipe to the Easter Bunny.  If we had to bribe him with treats to leave us chocolate eggs, the way we leave milk and cookies for Santa, this is what I’d leave.  Carrot Cupcakes!  Bunnies love carrots so I’m sure the Easter Bunny would spoil me rotten.  Plus carrots are vegetables, and these are stuffed full of walnuts, so I’m going to pass these off as healthy-ish.  I definitely can’t wait to gobble one up for breakfast tomorrow with a big mug of coffee.  Actually, why wait until tomorrow?  I’ll be right back…

Carrot and Raisin Cupcakes {Apartment 302}

Carrot & Raisin Cupcakes

From Tana’s Kitchen Secrets

Makes 12 cupcakes

  • 3 Tbsp raisins
  • grated zest  of 1 orange (about 1 1/2 Tbsp)
  • juice of 1 orange (about 1/2 cup)
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups ground walnuts
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups carrots, grated
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder

For the icing:

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 2/3 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • juice of 1 orange (about 1/2 cup)
  • grated zest of 1 orange (about 1 1/2 Tbsp)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Place the raisins in a bowl with the orange zest and juice and leave to plump for 10 minutes, or longer if you have the time.
  3. Whisk together the egg yolks and brown sugar until thick and creamy.  Add all remaining ingredients except the egg whites and fold through until the mixture is nice and smooth.  Beat the egg whites until they form stiff peaks when you remove the whisk, then carefully fold them into the cake mixture.
  4. Place cupcake liners into a cupcake pan and divide batter between them.  Bake the cupcakes in the oven for 30 minutes, until well risen and golden brown.  Remove from the oven, place on a cooling rack, and leave to cool completely.
  5. Meanwhile, prepare the icing.  Beat the cream cheese in a large bowl with the confectioners’ sugar until smooth.  Add enough orange juice to reach your preferred consistency.  Spread the icing over each cupcake and sprinkle with orange zest.

Carrot and Raisin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting {Apartment 302}

 

Leave a Reply

