Chile Beef Lettuce Wraps

So this recipe is for my Mom.  We went for lunch yesterday while she was in town visiting me and she wanted to share the Lettuce Wraps.  I wasn’t really into it, I was eyeing up the gyoza some fierce though.  So I mentioned that I had a recipe for Lettuce Wraps on my blog that she should try.  She said no I didn’t.  I said yes I did and accused her of not reading my blog.  Sorry, Mom.  I have to admit she was right.  Well, sort of.  It turns out I did have the recipe on my blog… I just hadn’t posted it.  So here is my Gordon Ramsay’s recipe for Chile Beef Lettuce Wraps.  They are spicy and sweet and salty and savoury and crunchy and zesty and… ok I’ll stop now.  I’m making myself hungry.  But they’re just so delicious.  So trust me and just go make them.  Mom, that also means you.

Chile Beef Lettuce Wraps

Recipe from Gordon Ramsay’s Home Cooking

Serves 4

  • Olive oil, for frying
  • 1/2 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1/2 lb. ground pork
  • Toasted sesame oil, for frying
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 2″ piece of fresh root ginger, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1–2 red chiles, deseeded and chopped
  • 1 Tbsp light brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp fish sauce
  • Zest of 1 lime, juice of 1/3 lime
  • 3 green onions, trimmed and chopped
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 little gem lettuces, separated into leaves, to serve (or Romaine Heart leaves)

For the dressing:

  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • Juice of ½ lime
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • ½ red chile, thinly sliced
  • Small bunch of cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 1–2 tsp fish sauce, to taste
  • 1 tsp light brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  1. Heat a large frying pan and add a little oil. Mix the ground beef and pork together. Season with salt and pepper and mix well. Fry the meat in the hot pan for five to seven minutes until crisp and brown. Drain the meat in a sieve – this will help it stay crispy. Set aside.
  2. Wipe out the pan and add a tablespoon of toasted sesame oil. Add the garlic, ginger and chile. Fry with a pinch of salt and the sugar for two minutes. Add the drained meat and stir to mix.
  3. Add the fish sauce and heat through. Stir in the lime zest and juice, then add the spring onions, stirring for thirty seconds. Turn off the heat.
  4. Mix all the dressing ingredients together and adjust to taste.
  5. To serve, spoon some of the meat mixture into the lettuce leaves, drizzle with a little dressing and serve.

Leave a Reply

