Shrimp Fried Rice

What to do with leftover rice?  Actually, I don’t know.  I rarely have any.  I happen to be a bit of a fiend for rice and soy sauce.  I’d make a good peasant!  Well, except for the part where I would have to live like one…  I will count my blessings now.  But as much as I adore a hot, steamed lobster dunked in butter or a decadent cheesecake, I am also equally satisfied with a big hunk of crusty bread slathered in butter or a bowl of sticky rice soaked with soy sauce.  Sometimes, the simplest things are splendid enough.

And speaking of simple, my rice cooker is just that.  Yes, yes, I know a pot works just fine for boiling rice.  But I am my mother’s daughter and have a penchant for collecting kitchen gadgets.  While my parents may love their fancy-schmancy, high-tech, Rolls Royce of the rice cooker world, mine is a $9 superstore special that does the trick.  Plug it in and flick the switch.  That’s it.  And 20 minutes later, fluffy hot rice!  Providing you put in enough water…  Alas, I am also my father’s daughter and think I have no need for instructions. (Yes, I learn the hard way).

I made you guys a little water-colour doodle! 🙂

Shrimp Fried Rice

Recipe from Bon Appétit

Serves 4

  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 12 peeled deveined small shrimp, thawed if frozen
  • Kosher salt
  • 8 scallions, thinly sliced, chutes and greens separated
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp finely chopped peeled ginger
  • 3 cups cold cooked white rice
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • ½ cup frozen edamame, thawed
  • ½ cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 3 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp unseasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp toasted sesame oil
  1. Heat 1 Tbsp. of the vegetable oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Season shrimp with salt and cook, turning once, until just opaque in the center, about 3 minutes; transfer to a plate.
  2. Heat remaining 1 Tbsp. of vegetable oil in same skillet; add scallion whites, garlic, and ginger. Cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add rice and stir to coat. Cook until rice is crisp, about 2 minutes. Push rice to one side of skillet; add eggs to other side and cook, stirring and working into rice mixture, 1 to 2 minutes.
  3. Add edamame, peas, soy sauce, vinegar, sesame oil, and cooked shrimp. Cook, tossing constantly, until shrimp and vegetables are heated through, about 1 minute. Top with scallion greens.

Leave a Reply

