Roasted Acorn Squash & Apple Bisque with Sage Brown Butter Croutons

Roasted Acorn Squash & Apple Bisque with Sage Brown Butter Croutons {Apartment 302}

OMG, you guys!  I still have it!  I have not lost my touch in the kitchen even though my stove has not been used in an embarrassingly long time.  I saw Acorn Squash at the Farmer’s Market and had to get it.  I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do with it but I lugged that thing around all day anyways.  But it was worth it for this soup, and I’d do it again!  I am actually pleasantly surprised at how well this soup turned out, it surpassed my expectations.  Don’t get me wrong, I expected it to be good, but this was heaven.  The mornings here have been frosty and the leaves are beautiful golden yellows, oranges and reds; this soup embodies that with the yellowy-orange squash and the pinky-red apples.  This soup is basically slurpable Autumn in a bowl.  It’s the kind of thing you would enjoy after a long day of jumping in piles of freshly raked leaves and picking out the perfect pumpkin in the patch while sipping on hot cider with a McDreamy look-a-like… Or, if you are anything like me, after sitting on the couch all day catching up on Dexter reruns and regretting that last half bottle of wine you drank last night.  Regardless, this soup is perfect anytime.

Roasted Acorn Squash & Apple Bisque with Sage Brown Butter Croutons {Apartment 302}

And apparently I am not very good at taking measurements when I cook.  Partly out of laziness, I usually just eyeball things.  Not very helpful for when I want to share these recipes, I know.  So bear with me on this recipe since it doesn’t really need to be exact (and bear with me on the photos, my camera battery died).  You can add more or less of whatever you want and I guarantee it will still turn out to be a fantastic fall dish.  I’m sure it would be just as tasty with any other kind of winter squash you choose (let me know!!!).

Oh, and make the croutons, you can thank me later.

Acorn Squash {Apartment 302}

Roasted Acorn Squash & Gala Apples {Apartment 302}

Roasted Acorn Squash & Apple Bisque

Serves 2 as a meal, 4 as a side.

  • 1 acorn squash
  • 2 apples (I used Gala)
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 large yellow onion
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • Fresh sage (I used about 6 large leaves), chopped
  • 1 10-oz can of chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half
  1. Preheat oven to 400° F.
  2. Cut squash in half and place cut side up in a baking dish filled with a 1/4″ of water.  Place in the oven to roast until easily pierced with a fork, about 40 minutes.
  3. Cut apples in half and remove core (I should have done this first!).  Place on a lightly greased baking sheet and roast in the oven until easily pierced with a fork, about 20 minutes or so.
  4. Remove squash and apples from oven and set aside until cool.  Once cool enough to handle, scoop the inside out of the squash and apples (or get your hands really mucky and peel the apples like I did!).  Set aside.
  5. In a large pot over medium heat, melt butter.  Add onion and cook until softened.
  6. Add sage, chicken broth and water and bring to a boil over high heat.  Reduce to medium heat and simmer until squash and apples are very tender, about 10 minutes or so.
  7. Working in batches, blend until smooth in a blender, food processor or in the pot with an immersion blender.  (I’d let it cool a little before putting it in the blender or food processor!  Be careful!).
  8. Once smooth, return to pan, stir in half-and-half and season with salt and pepper.  Garnish with fresh sage leaves and/or Sage Brown Butter Croutons!

Roasted Acorn Squash & Apple Soup {Apartment 302}

Roasted Acorn Squash & Apple Bisque with Sage Brown Butter Croutons {Apartment 302}

Sage Brown Butter Croutons

Makes as much as you want

  • Day old crusty bread such as a baguette
  • Butter
  • Fresh sage leaves, chopped.
  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Cut or tear bread into cubes, however large or small you choose.
  3. Melt butter in a pot over medium-high heat.  Once melted, add chopped sage.  Let butter continue to cook on stove until it turns brown in colour and nutty smelling.  I usually give it a stir every now and then and when I see little brown bits start forming on the bottom of the pan I turn off the heat.  I’m not very precise.
  4. Let the brown butter cool slightly and then toss in a bowl with the cubed bread to lightly coat.  Arrange on a baking sheet.
  5. Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.  Shake pan or flip croutons halfway through cooking.  Delicious in soup or salad!  (Or by themselves!)

Roasted Acorn Squash & Apple Bisque with Sage Brown Butter Croutons {Apartment 302}

3 thoughts on “Roasted Acorn Squash & Apple Bisque with Sage Brown Butter Croutons

  1. SusieQ says:

    This looks so good! Perfect for this type of weather too. I have a butternut squash – do you think it would work as well?

  2. Ken McCaskill says:

    Yumm, looks delish. Ang made curried squash a few days ago, it was perfect for a cool rainy day at the lake. More soups!

Leave a Reply

