I haven’t forgotten!

I apologize for my absence.  I really have no excuse for my vanishing act.  I just got busy.  And amidst my bustling life, my cooking and baking evolved into the quick chopping of veggies tossed together and called a salad, a bagel toasted with cream cheese and called lunch, take out picked up on the way home and called dinner.  I found myself outs of the house more often than in the kitchen.  I apologize for my absence but I had quite a lovely summer.  So let me share with you a little of what I’ve been up to over the last few months…

Fresh produce {Apartment 302}

Devouring lots of fresh fruits and veggies from my local Farmer’s Markets. Nothing fancy, just lots of raw fruits and salads full of veggies.

Calgary, AB - June 2013

My city (Calgary, Alberta) had devastating floods at the end of June. Over 100,000 people in my city and neighboring communities were affected.
(This photo is not mine. If it belongs to you, let me know and i’ll give you credit).

Flood Cleanup {Apartment 302}

Despite the devastation (see the water/mud line on the walls at eye level, higher in some places), I have never felt such a sense of community. I, along with thousands of others, volunteered to help our neighbours shovel, empty, clean & rebuild the mud and water drenched houses and businesses and put the city back together again. Even the youngest kidlets in our communities contributed by bringing food and fresh water to those sweating and sore from the laborious task at hand and posting hand drawn ‘Thank you Volunteers!’ signs throughout the community.

Cubicle {Apartment 302}

Then I got a new job. In a field I know nothing about. It was an amazing opportunity that presented itself as one door was closing. I had to take it. And I haven’t looked back since. 🙂

Biking {Apartment 302}

And I did get out of town on a few weekends. One spectacularly sunny Saturday afternoon I biked through the beautiful mountains in Banff, Alberta with a friend.

Relaxing {Apartment 302}

And when I wasn’t in the office, I indulged in some quality R&R by basking in the sunshine, often with my new little buddy (my friend’s pup).

Kananaskis Country {Apartment 302}

But not every day was soaked with sunshine. An overcast Sunday was the perfect day to escape to Kananaskis Country with friends for a little hiking in the mountains.

Country Roads {Apartment 302}

As the leaves started changing on the trees and summer evolved into Autumn, I had a few solo road trips through the beautiful prairies to visit family and friends in other parts of my province. I love the rolling hills and the big skies. Autumn is my favorite season and I absolutely adored the view as I rolled down the open roads. I am so lucky to live in such a beautiful place.

So now you know what I have been up to the last few months.  If you have any exciting stories from your summer, I’d love to hear them.  And if you have any great recipes or ingredients you think I should try, I’d love a little more inspiration!  I promise you, I will post something delicious soon.  I may have been gone, but I have not forgotten.  🙂

Leave a Reply

