A Green Smoothie (that actually tastes delicious!)

A Green Smoothie (that actually tastes delicious!) {Apartment 302}

Green smoothies always scared me.  I liked the idea of drinking in so many fruits and vegetables and all their nutritional goodness but I was hesitant (spinach and broccoli juice, anyone?).  Living with roommates a couple years ago, I found myself in the presence of a juicing machine.  I was excited for this new-to-me kitchen gadget and went on a week long juicing binge, liquefying everything in sight.  One particularly ambitious day, I decided to make my very first green smoothie.  I juiced, liquefied, pulverized, smashed, squeezed and blended a couple weeks worth of produce into one thick, sludgy green refreshment.  I was so proud of myself and envisioning my smoothie as my own godsend creation about to be bequeathed unto the Internet for the benefit of mankind everywhere.  Until I took a big gulp.  And subsequently spat it out onto the window in front of me.  Not quite the green elixir of the vegetable gods I had imagined.  Not wanting to waste the $30 in produce I concentrated into a single large glass, I plugged my nose and tipped it down the gullet (by the way, plugging your nose does not prevent you from tasting unpleasant things.  We were lied to in childhood).  I vowed to never juice anything but fruit ever again.  And I was convinced that green juices could never taste good.  The mere image of a thick, green smoothie made my stomach churn and brought back memories of simultaneously gagging and gulping the green goop.  I had definitely been a little too heavy handed on the cruciferous component.  This is not that smoothie.

Last week while trying to get over my cold for the past week, I started to up my intake of fruits and veggies in a desperate attempt to kick the cold as quickly as possible.  Now my cold is 98% gone but my energy levels are still pretty low (hence the lack of posting lately).  This smoothie has been my saving grace in the mornings!  It’s loaded with delicious and nutritious, vitamin loaded fruits and vegetables.  It gives my immune system and my energy levels a good boost.  And it actually tastes delicious!  This is the green smoothie love affair I had always envisioned.

A Green Smoothie (that actually tastes delicious!) {Apartment 302}

The Most Delicious Green Smoothie to Ever Exist

Serves 2

  • 4-6 curly kale leaves, ribs removed
  • 1 orange, peeled
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries (I use frozen strawberries instead of ice cubes for coldness, use fresh strawberries if you like)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 Tbsp honey (or Agave if you don’t eat honey)
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 Tbsp ground flaxseed or whole chia seeds (optional)
  1. Throw all ingredients into the blender and whiz it up until it’s nice and smooth, about 1-2 minutes.  Drink it up!

A Green Smoothie (that actually tastes delicious!) {Apartment 302}

And just for fun, some photographic evidence of the aforementioned first green smoothie catastrophe…

Green Smoothie {Apartment 302}

My first Green Smoothie in all it’s misconceived glory.

The reality of the first smoothie. Definitely NOT the delicious recipe above!

One thought on “A Green Smoothie (that actually tastes delicious!)

Leave a Reply

