Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup with Kale

Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup with Kale {Apartment 302}

Soooo I wasn’t planning on doing another crockpot soup recipe so soon, but in a dramatic turn of events, I came down with a wicked cold and sinus infection yesterday.  Awesome.  It feels like I swallowed a vat of acid and then got hit by a semi.  And the timing couldn’t be better.  I had to film a tv commercial today.  Somehow I manage to drug myself up to resemble a normal human being for a few hours (I’m sure the professional makeup helped a little too…).  But anyways, I made it through the day and had a ton of fun!  But now I’m back in bed and my cold has caught up to me.  So what a better way to nourish a sick soul than a hearty bowl of homemade chicken noodle soup loaded with kale?  Since my Mom doesn’t live here to make me soup when I’m sick and there is an absence of a Mister in my life to warm up a can of Campbell’s for me, the soup responsibility fell onto myself.  So I took the easy road and threw it all in the crockpot and let it do the work for me.  The soup is so yummy I almost wish I got sick more often!  Haha  Just kidding!  I really don’t need an excuse to enjoy a bowl of chicken noodle soup!

Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup with Kale {Apartment 302}

Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup with Kale

Makes 4-6 servings

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 2 Tbsp fresh thyme
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (or 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts if you prefer white meat)
  • 1 carton (900mL) chicken broth
  • 3 cups very hot water
  • 4-6 large curly kale leaves, ribs removed and torn into small pieces
  • 2 cups egg noodles, uncooked
  1. Turn crockpot on to High for quick cooking (3 hours) or Low for slow cooking (7 hours).
  2. Add oil, onion, celery, carrots, salt, pepper, thyme and chicken to crockpot in that order.  Pour in chicken broth and water.  The liquid should generously cover all the other ingredients, add more water if it does not.  Cook on High for 3 hours or Low for 7 hours, until chicken is cooked through.
  3. Remove chicken from crockpot and let cool for 5 minutes or until cool enough to handle.  Add kale and egg noodles to the crockpot and cook on Low for about 30 minutes until the noodles are cooked through.  When chicken is cool enough to handle, shred or cut into bite sized pieces and add back to crockpot for remainder of cooking time.  Serve hot.

Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup with Kale {Apartment 302}

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup with Kale

  1. theboxerswife says:

    Stumbled upon this last night, just in time because I’m sick! The husband fetched the ingredients for me from the store this morning and I threw it all together. I just finished a bowl of it and it was FABULOUS!!!! My throat feels so much better already!!!! Thank you for sharing! =)

  2. apartment302 says:

    I am so glad you enjoyed my Chicken Noodle Soup and I am glad you are feeling better! That is the reason I started this blog, it feels great to share my favorite recipes with people. I will update soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

