Chorizo and White Bean Stew

Chorizo and White Bean Stew {Apartment 302}

Just imagine slurping up a big bowl of this stew, curled up on the couch watching Criminal Minds?  Sounds like the perfect, night in for me!  This stew has won me over.  I always claimed I hated stews.  I’d turn my nose up at them at the mere mention of the name, without giving the ingredients a fair chance.  More for you, I would say.  But this stew, it’s just different.  I don’t even want to call it a stew, let’s call it a bowl full of yumness.  I liked the idea of the fresh green spinach in it!  I want so much to love spinach but a horrendous spinach lasagna fail a number of years ago scared me away from using this crisp, green, nutritional powerhouse as much as I’d like to.  But the wilted baby spinach in this stew has changed my mind.  And the buttery white beans and spicy chorizo!  What’s not to love?  And the fact that it’s super quick and easy makes it a weeknight dream come true.  Oh man, now I am hungry again.

Chorizo and White Bean Stew

From Bon Appetit Magazine Feb 2013 issue

serves 4 (This recipe is easily halved)

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil, divided, plus more for drizzling
  • 1 lb. fresh Mexican chorizo or Italian sausage links (for a milder dish)
  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 sprig thyme
  • 2  15 ounce cans cannellini (white kidney) beans, rinsed
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • kosher salt, freshly ground pepper
  • 5 ounces baby spinach (about 10 cups)
  • smoked paprika (optional)
  1. Heat 1 Tbsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add sausage and cook, turning occasionally, until browned and cooked through, 15-20 minutes.  Transfer sausage to a plate.
  2. Reduce heat to medium.  Heat remaining 1 Tbsp oil in the same skillet.  Add onion, garlic, and thyme sprig.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is softened, 5-8 minutes.  Add beans and broth and cook, crushing a few beans with the back of a spoon to thicken sauce, until slightly thickened, 8-10 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add spinach by handfuls and cook just until wilted, about 2 minutes.
  3. Slice chorizo and fold into stew; add water to thin, if desired.  Divide stew among bowls; drizzle with oil and sprinkle paprika, if desired.

Chorizo and White Bean Stew {Apartment 302}

Leave a Reply

