Hulk Granola with Cherries, Almonds and Coconut

Hulk Granola with Cherries, Almonds & Coconut {Apartment 302}

This granola, it has magic powers.  It will give you incredible energy and amazing strength.  Seriously.  Bruce Banner probably ate this the first time he transformed into the Hulk.  The Gamma Bomb exposure is probably just a coincidence.  It may have turned him green, but I am sure this granola is the source of his strength.  I know from experience.  I ate it before kickboxing one night and almost injured my partner with my newfound strength and stamina!  And she’s the toughest girl in class!  So that says a lot and I owe it all to this granola.

I always wanted to try making granola so one night I just went for it.  So easy!  So delicious!  I will *NEVER* purchase granola from a store again!  Not when I can make it so easily and just the way I like it (and turn into the Hulk!  HULK SMASH!!!).  There’s so many more combinations I want to try than I can eat!  Ermagherd, the possibilities are endless!  Let’s just call this the beginning of Granolafest 2013.  (Is that even a thing?  Because it should be.).

Hulk Granola with Cherries, Almonds and Coconut {Apartment 302}

Hulk Granola

Adapted from Bon Appetit Magazine, Feb 2013 issue

Makes 12 servings

  • 1 large egg white
  • 3 cups old fashioned oats
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 olive oil
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 2 Tbsp packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup dried cherries
  1. Preheat oven to 300° F.  Combine egg white, oats, almonds, pumpkin seeds, coconut, honey, olive oil, sesame seeds, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl.  Toss to combine.
  2. Spread mixture onto a rimmed baking sheet and bake for 40-45 minutes until golden brown and dry, stirring every 10 minutes or so.  (Mine was fairly moist, almost soggy, at first.  This is ok, it will dry out).
  3. Remove granola and allow to cool and crisp up.  Mix in dried cherries.  Store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.  Tastes amazing served with greek yogurt!

Hulk Granola with Cherries, Almonds and Coconut {Apartment 302}

7 thoughts on “Hulk Granola with Cherries, Almonds and Coconut

  1. Ken McCaskill says:

    I eat muslei with yogurt every morning, which is almost the same thing. And I knock people out every day!

Leave a Reply

