Roasted Tomato Salad

Roasted Tomato Salad {Apartment 302}

Tonight I was in the mood for a salad.  But not the normal heaping pile of rabbit food that I usually call a salad.  I wanted something that felt a little more special than usual.  So I decided oven roasted tomatoes would do the trick.  I have a love-hate relationship with tomatoes.  I love them in salads but I hate them in sandwiches.  When I order a burger at a restaurant, I don’t ask for them without tomatoes because I like to pick them off and eat them on the side.  I guess there’s just a time and place for them, and it’s not in my burger, it’s in my salad.

Cherry Tomatoes {Apartment 302}

Oven Roasted Tomatoes

Makes however many you want to make.  I didn’t measure, you don’t need to be precise.

  • 1 container cherry tomatoes, washed.
  • Drizzle of olive oil
  • Pinch of white sugar
  • Pinch or two of salt
  • Sprinkling of dried thyme
  1. Preheat oven to 4oo degrees.  Cut tomatoes in half and place in a baking sheet leaving a bit of room between the tomatoes.  Drizzle tomatoes with olive oil and sprinkle with sugar, salt and thyme.  Roast in oven for about 30-45 minutes until soft and wrinkled.

Oven Roasted Tomatoes {Apartment 302}

Roasted Tomato Salad

Serves… as much as you want.  Again, just throw it together.

  • Your favorite type of leafy greens
  • Goat cheese
  • Oven Roasted Tomatoes
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Olive Oil, optional
  1. Pile some of those mixed greens on a plate.  I used a mixed “Artisanal Blend.”  Ooooh getting fancy, schmancy up in here.  I also threw in some fresh mint leaves.
  2. Sprinkle some goat cheese over the greens and top with the oven roasted tomatoes.
  3. Drizzle salad with balsamic vinegar and olive oil, if using.  Munch munch!

Roasted Tomato Salad {Apartment 302}

One thought on “Roasted Tomato Salad

  1. Ken McCaskill says:

    Looks good. Never tried roasting the things, usually just the cherry tomatoes in a Greek salad or wedges in my “Alaskan wedge salad”.

Leave a Reply

