Potato Leek Soup

Potato Leek Soup {Apartment 302}

Trudging up to my apartment on Monday, exhausted after a gruelling kickboxing session, I was greeted by my neighbour offering me a bowl of homemade Potato Soup.  I can not tell you how happy I was that I said yes!  (Not that I would have ever said no, she always makes the best food!).  Heaped on the couch, I devoured the soup (and cried a little when I slurped down the last spoonful).  It was the best soup I have ever eaten.  After permeating my thoughts all week, I finally decided to attempt my own version.  And yes, I totally licked the bowl clean.

Potato Leek Soup

Adapted from Martha Stewart

Serves 2-3

  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 large leek, cleaned, white and light green parts, sliced in half and then crosswise
  • 2-3 russet potatoes, peeled and sliced thinly
  • Generous pinch (or two) of salt
  • 1.5 cups chicken stock
  • 1.5 cups cream, half and half, milk (I used 10% MF table cream)
  • Pinch freshly grated nutmeg
  • Chopped fresh chives

Leeks {Apartment 302}

  1. Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add leeks and cook, stirring, until softened, about 10 minutes.
  2. Add potatoes, salt and chicken stock to pot.  Simmer until potatoes are tender, about 30 minutes.
  3. Using an immersion blender and blend until desired smoothness (I left my soup a little lumpy).  For a smoother soup, transfer slightly cooled soup to a blender or food processor and process until smooth and then transfer back to pot.  (Be very careful blending hot liquids as pressure can build up and cause a bit of an eruption. Just ask my sister about blending hot gravy!)
  4. Slowly stir in cream and nutmeg.  Add more salt, to taste, if needed.  Heat soup on medium-high heat until warmed through.
  5. Ladle into bowls and sprinkle with fresh, chopped chives.

Potato Leek Soup {Apartment 302}

Leave a Reply

